

Dr. George N. Atiyeh Award 2021 Report By Leili Seifi

Chair of the Dr. Atiyeh Committee

For Business Meeting on Friday (29 October, 10:30 a.m.)

The George N. Atiyeh Award is an annual affair in hopes of recognizing aspiring Middle East subject specialist librarians. This year's committee decided to extend the call for applicants to other institutions in the region. So the committee distributed the call through all international network such as IFLA-L, Iranian LIS forums, SIG-III, ASIS & T, Middle East Chapter and also all ALA accredited institutions, other institutions in Middle East. After two reminding received six applications, most of them were worthy of this valuable award. Therefore, the committee awarded two exceptional applicants Ryan Zohar and Mehdi Rahmani.

Ryan Zohar currently studying in the part of Dual MA/MSLIS at the Palmer School of Library and Information Science and New York University and in the MA Program in Near Eastern Studies at the Hagop Kevorkian Center for Near Eastern Studies. He has strong work experiences on LIS and other related subject to Middle East studies. He published many academic works and some of his papers selected as best papers. Furthermore, he achieved many scholarship and awards from prestige's associations such as Atla Diversity Scholarship, ALA ProQuest Spectrum Scholarship, Departmental Honors in Middle Eastern, South Asian & African Studies and so on.

Mehdi Rahmani is Ph.D. student in Information Science at the University of Tehran in Iran. He has served as chair of the LIS student's association for several years. He

has studied both bachelor and master on LIS and during his student life contributed to the field in many ways such as collaboration with students, researchers, and librarians and conducted workshops and scientific conferences. He has published many articles in the reputed journals and presented articles in the international conferences. He also collaborated at the research projects. Furthermore, He achieved many awards during his student's life such as distinguished young researcher and so on.

Dr. George N. Atiyeh Prize Committee Members:

Aicha Azzaous, Northwestern University, Evanston IL, U.S. (Member)

Maurice Hines, American University of Cairo, Egypt. (Member)

Guy Burak, New York University, New York, U.S. (Member)

Leili Seifi, University of Birjand, Birjand, Iran (Chair)