In accordance with our mission to advance Middle East Librarianship and promote excellence in scholarship and professionalism, MELA has established several award programs to promote Middle East Librarianship and recognize excellence in the field.

George Atiyeh Prize

The George Atiyeh Prize was founded by the Middle East Librarians Association in 1999 to honor George N. Atiyeh, retired Head of the Near East Section of the Library Congress, founding member of MELA and of the Middle East Microform Project, for his many contributions to Middle East librarianship and scholarship. Dr. Atiyeh is the first and only honorary member of MELA. The George Atiyeh Prize offers financial aid to attend the annual meetings of MELA and of the Middle East Studies Association of North America (MESA).

M. Lesley Wilkins Education Award

In recognition of the special contributions to Middle East librarianship by M. Lesley Wilkins, Bibliographer for Law of the Islamic World at the Harvard Law School Library who passed away on 23 July 2007, the Middle East Librarians’ Association (MELA) has established the M. Lesley Wilkins Education Award. A $1,000 (one thousand US dollar) cash prize will be awarded in alternate years in Lesley Wilkins memory to a person who made significant contributions to education and mentorship in Middle East librarianship.

David H. Partington Award

In 2004, MELA established the Annual David H. Partington Award to grant public and tangible recognition to its members who have displayed a high standard of excellence and accomplishments in and contributions to the field of Middle East librarianship, librarianship in general, and the world of scholarship. Nominations are solicited from library administrators of libraries where MELA members serve.